So Easy it’s Bananas Banoffee Pie

I first discovered banoffee (banana and toffee) pie when I started university. I was desperately craving a homemade pudding one Sunday and was staying with my boyfriend, who had very few ingredients available at his university shop and even less cooking equipment, when I discovered this simple yet scrumptious recipe. I still make it the same way so excuse the strange measurements and utensils I have included in the instructions! This is a recipe for anyone and you can make it anywhere, I’ve even made it in Dubai for my family there! For anyone who has a craving for something sweet this weekend, it’s a must, trust me!

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of digestive biscuits
  • knob of butter
  • 1 pot of double cream or whisking cream
  • 3 bananas- the riper the better!
  • 1 tin of canned caramel (sorry I cheat)

Method:

  1. Put the biscuits into a plastic food bag and seal. Bash the biscuits with a can until broken into tiny pieces like sand being careful not to puncture the bag. If you have a rolling pin to hand this will also work as will a tea towel instead of a bag, they just weren’t very clean in halls!
  2. Melt the butter in a pan.
  3. Once the butter is melted pour in the crushed biscuits.
  4. Mix the butter with the biscuits until they come together, add more butter if they are not sticking very well.
  5. Immediately place into a big dish or alternatively place into several ramekin dishes.
  6. Push the mixture down so that it looks like the base of a cheesecake.
  7. Chop the bananas into small round slices.
  8. Place the banana on top of the biscuit.
  9. Pour on the canned caramel. Make sure it is evenly spread.
  10. Whip the cream until it forms and holds peaks.
  11. Spoon the cream on to the top of the caramel.
  12. Refrigerate for at least a few hours. Overnight is best.
  13. ENJOY!

    IMG_0967
    My first ever attempt- my boyfriend couldn’t wait for the photo before he ate it!

 

Leave a Reply

