Brilliant Butter Cream

IMG_1932
The icing on top of a birthday cake I made for a friend.

This week’s recipe is very simple but I wanted to post it because I have been searching for the perfect butter icing/ butter cream for years now. So many of my friends decorate their cakes beautifully by piping butter icing in swirls on top their cakes. My icing has never been the right consistency to do this. I have also found that some icings are far too sickly and make a light sponge become heavy to eat which is a shame. This simple recipe however seems to have resolved both my problems. I hope you like it too! I also realise I have never posted a sponge cake recipe so I will post my favourite cake recipe later in the week so that you can try the butter cream on top of a delicious cake!

Ingredients:

  • 2:1 ratio of icing sugar to butter e.g. 200g of icing sugar to 100g of butter.
  • Drop of milk.
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla concentrate. I use a Mexican concentrate which my mum’s friend bought back from Mexico. It has a nicer flavour than essence but that too will work. Try to go for a more expensive essence as they will enhance the flavour of the butter cream more than the cheaper ones.

Method:

  • Combine all the ingredients in a small mixing bowl and beat until all the ingredients are combined. ┬áThe mixture should form peaks when ready.
  • Use as a Victoria sponge filling with jam or pipe onto the top of you cake/ cupcakes.

 

Top tip: of course you can add colouring to make your icing more interesting but liquid colours can often flavour the icing try using gel colouring instead.

One thought on “Brilliant Butter Cream

Leave a Reply

